dorpwide.jpg
weide.jpg
visser.jpg
Plateau.jpg
liez.jpg
herfst2.jpg
herfst.jpg
winter.jpg
winter2.jpg
winter2.jpg
mist.jpg
lente.jpg
lente2.jpg
kerk.jpg
koer-00.jpg
blauwe.jpg
koer-03.jpg
terras02.jpg
gastenboek.jpg
traphal.jpg
gangboven.jpg
kamer03.jpg
Nl | Fr | Eng
In the south of the Champagne region, at the crossroads of Bourgogne, Franche-Comté and Lorraine, the Haute-Marne rolls out 6220 square km of versatile landscapes, plateaus, hills, valleys, and plains, along the central axis of the river Marne. Forests cover 40% of that surface.

As a natural corridor between the Paris bassin, the older reliefs of the Vosges and the Saône valley, the Haute-Marne functions as a natural rise and important transit zone. Tipping like a giant table from the south-east to the north-west, it rises 516 m above sea level at the Haut-du-Sec in the Langres region.

Joining three slopes, the Haute-Marne constitutes an important hydraulic net, stretching out 2300 km with about 500 rivers and streams. It's where the Marne, the Aube and the Meuse spring.

Scarcely populated with actually about 200000 inhabitants of which most are living in rural areas, the department possesses only three major cities along the thread of the Marne: Langres in the south (10000 inhabitants), the prefecture Chaumont in the centre (27000 inhabitants) and Saint-Dizier in the north (33500 inhabitants).

Rich in its natural resources, historically the Haute-Marne is fueled with merged activities: the exploitation and transformation of wood, agriculture, breeding, and the steel industry along the rivers, although in recession still remaining the major source of employment. New branches develop: plastics and automotive parts, especially in the canton of Langres and agro-food industry with the factory of Miko in Saint-Dizier for example. Furthermore there is thermal cure in Bourbonne-les-Bains.

Also, the rich historic past and the environment of the Haute-Marne, carefully preserved and upgraded, attract more and more amateurs among tourists. The old Roman site of Langres, protected by its ramparts and the village of Colombey-les-Deux-Eglises, burial place of General De Gaulle, are top tourist locations.

(Source: Météo France)
kaartje_fr.jpg
Vicq 52400
Haute-Marne
Champagne-Ardenne
France
47 55.461 N
05 36.088 E

dorpwide.jpg
weide.jpg
visser.jpg
Plateau.jpg
liez.jpg
herfst2.jpg
herfst.jpg
winter.jpg
winter2.jpg
winter2.jpg
mist.jpg
lente.jpg
lente2.jpg
kerk.jpg
koer-00.jpg
blauwe.jpg
koer-03.jpg
terras02.jpg
gastenboek.jpg
traphal.jpg
gangboven.jpg
kamer03.jpg
Nl | Fr | Eng
Situé au Sud de la Champagne, au carrefour des régions Bourgogne, Franche-Comté, Lorraine et Champagne, la Haute-Marne étend des 6220 km2 de paysages variés, plateaux, collines, vallées et plaines de part et d'autre de l'axe central que constitue la rivière Marne. 40% de cette surface est constituée de forêts.

Palier naturel entre le Bassin Parisien, les reliefs plus anciens du massif des Vosges, et la vallée de la Saône, la situation de la Haute-Marne lui confère un rôle de seuil naturel et de lieu de passage important. Elle se présente comme une grande table basculant du Sud-Est au Nord-Ouest et culminant à 516 m au Haut-du-Sec, dans la région de Langres.

Située à la jonction de trois bassins versants, la Haute-Marne possède un important réseau hydraulique avec près de 500 rivières et ruisseaux s'écoulant sur 2300 kilomètres. La Marne, l'Aube et la Meuse y prennent leurs sources.

Peu peuplé avec actuellement près de 200000 habitants dont la plupart vivent à la campagne, le département ne compte que trois villes importantes établies au fil de la Marne: au Sud Langres (10000 habitants), au centre la Préfecture Chaumont (27000 habitants) et au Nord Saint-Dizier (33500 habitants).

Riche de ses ressources naturelles, la Haute-Marne vit d'activités implantées depuis longtemps: l'exploitation et la transformation du bois, l'agriculture, l'élevage, et la métallurgie sur les rivières, qui bien qu'en régression, reste le bassin principal d'emplois. De nouveaux secteurs se développent: la plasturgie et les pièces détachées pour l'automobile, notamment dans le canton de Langres et l'agro-alimentaire avec par exemple l'usine Miko à Saint-Dizier. Le thermalisme est présent à Bourbonne-les-Bains.

D'autre part, le riche passé historique et l'environnement de la Haute-Marne, préservés avec soin et mis en valeur, trouvent des adeptes de plus en plus nombreux parmi les touristes. La vieille cité gallo-romaine de Langres abritée par ses remparts et le village de Colombey-les-Deux-Eglises où est enterré le Général de Gaulle sont ainsi de hauts lieux de visites.

(Météo France)
kaartje_fr.jpg
Vicq 52400
Haute-Marne
Champagne-Ardenne
France
47 55.461 N
05 36.088 E